Today was a very interesting day. We all went into the crazy town of Jeremie to check on a water well, visit an orphanage, and visit a prison. I expected to see pure depression and poor upkeeping at the orphanage. Fortuanelty, the nuns take excellent care of all the children and they were all well fed and happy. They were full of smiles as they sung songs for us and played with us. They all captured my heart and made me want to adopt them all. I wanted to play with the young babies but we were like aliens to them. So, therefore; they cried by the looks of us. Unlike my visit at the orphanage, the prison made me feel like I stepped into a world of misery and destruction of the soul. We handed out playing cards, food, and peanuts to them. There were not many woman but the number of boys my own age made me cringe. It made me wonder what they could have possibly done to be put in such a place. After we got back, we bought bread at a bakery and fed children. It is highly pleasing to see these haitian children get simple bread because they are so grateful for it. My cousin, Therese, has to have the biggest heart I have ever come to know. She is constantly giving out food and making sure she has some with her at all times. Even if a child looks full, she feeds him. Well, I am going finish the day by playing with the beautiful children whom I will miss a lot.
                                                                                                                 -Emma
Juju/ mom
4/15/2012 06:53:34 am

Hi em
We were wondering if y'all handed out the skirts and have you been able to take pictures?
Love you

Reply



Leave a Reply.