I had yet another amazing day in an astonishing country. Today, we gave out distributions to some of the poorest haitians in the area that we are staying in. The bags that we gave out contained flour, beans, rice, rosaries, prayer cards, soap, necessary survival items, and skirts that were made by helpful people back at home. These people had to walk two miles to get here and two miles to return home. I felt sorrow for the many pregant ladies and old people who had to walk the distance barefoot to get here but I know these bags will help them tremendously. I feel like the kids that I met in the compound are mine and if I could, I would bring them all home with me. Therese and I gave out pencils and notepads to these kids to use at their school. They were overwhelmed with happiness just by a single pencil. The feeling that washed over me is unexplainable. It is like, I went my whole life so utterly ungrateful for single things like these. This trip has opened my eyes and helped me to see exactly everything I have been doing wrong.
       I attempted to paint the roof at the school today but after looking at my work compared to Mr. David's, I had to stop. The school in the area is heartbreaking. Everything is fallen and in deep need of repair. There are no doors and the entire school is made of stone. I wish I could snap my fingers and make it an actual building instead of something in ruins. At least the kids seem happy with it, but I guess they are not aware of how an actual schoolbuilding should look like. I wish I could write down everything that happened today, but I would be sitting onThanks for reading
                                                    -Emma
Mom
4/11/2012 11:39:56 am

Wow Emma, I just can't imagine what your experiencing! God is giving you graces I can tell in your worlds. Keep it up. Love you always....mom

Reply
Juju
4/11/2012 12:24:28 pm

I miss you so much sissy
Wish I could see you but they need you more than I do.
Mom wanted to know if y'all handed out the skirts we made.
I love you

Reply
adele d,lucy,mama
4/11/2012 12:28:09 pm

I am so happy you did this i hope u will have wonderful and great memories. U r all in our prays love u always Adele Dupont

Reply
4/11/2012 01:04:35 pm

emma i am so glad you are experencing a look at the less fortunate. it will help you to become a better person. always remember who you are and what good things you can bring to those around you. i love you.....sannie

Reply
Mia S.
4/12/2012 09:25:12 am

Emma,
I am so excited that you're doing this! What you're doing for these people is so remarkable! God is proud and I am, too. May the Lord bless you and all of those you are helping. You ROCK!!!


Reply



Leave a Reply.